Team

Our team members

There is a lot of work to be done behind the scenes of the space studio. Let us introduce our helping people:

    

Sebastian Voltmer …

… is the founder of the space studio and an internationally acclaimed astrophotographer. From 2000 he studied at the University of Kassel, initially as a student of Floris Neusüss in the department of photography and Nicolaus Ott and Bernard Stein in graphic design. He graduated with distinction as a student of Yana Drouz with the film “Wiederkehr des Mars”. 2003 Scholarship in “Fine Art” at Kingston University in London. 2004 Studies at the Film Academy of the “University of Music and Performing Arts”, Vienna.
In 2000, Sebastian Voltmer’s work “Astrophotografie als Methode zur Kometenentdecdeckung” (Astrophotography as a Method for the Discovery of Comets) became the state winner and Federal Prize winner in “Jugend forscht” (Youth Researches) and as such received an invitation to German Chancellor Gerhard Schröder in September 2000.
At the age of seventeen, he shot his first film entitled “The Face of the Moon”, which received the “Film Prize for a Special Setting” at the Landshut Open Competition for Filmmakers Under 24 in July 1999. Since then he has been increasingly involved in the composition of film music. His second film “Das Gesicht des Himmels” was recorded by the Bavarian Broadcasting Corporation (Space Night). At the end of 2001 he produced the film “Sternschnuppen über China – Leoniden 2001” in Manchuria, which was broadcast on Bavarian television on December 15, 2002. His latest production is the feature film “JOMI’s sphere of action”.

With or without a telescope –  Sebastian Voltmer brings the visitors of the space studio closer to the sky.

 

Christoph Pütz …

… has been an amateur astronomer for more than 35 years and is active at the Peterberg Observatory (www.sternwarte-peterberg.de). Like Sebastian Voltmer, he discovered his passion for astrophotography at an early age. As a member of the “International DarkSky Association” (www.darksky.org) he combines tourism, astronomy, health, environmental and nature protection on a voluntary basis with many helpers in the Sankt-Wendeler-Land. Visitors to the space studio will meet him more often 😉

Arabella Strassner …

… created the basis for the cultural further development of the Space Studio during her Master’s degree and specifically put the promotion of accessibility into practice. She grew up bilingual, has German-Italian roots and studied “Language, Culture, Translation” in Germersheim and Paris. During her master studies in the border region Saarbrücken, Metz and Luxembourg, she specialised in “Cross-border communication and cooperation” in the field of media, with a special focus on the integration and accessibility of the sensory disabled (deaf and blind). Her main interests are in the field of culture and international understanding, which she has also dealt with in her master thesis. The theoretical findings were put into practice at the Space Studio. During her studies she gained professional and practical experience at the Saarländischer Filmbüro and the Saarländischer Rundfunk as well as at the production company LichtenSTERN.tv in Saarbrücken.

 

Manfred Voltmer …

… has been a television journalist since 1972 and has produced more than 5,000 films – from the current 1’30 report to the 60′ feature.
He completed his journalistic traineeship at Saarländischer Rundfunk, where he worked from 1976 to 1981 as 1st editor in the “Aktuelle Landesschau”. His focus is on travel reporting, culture, nature conservation and environmental protection. In addition, there are portraits about people and organisations such as the bush doctor Dr. Hans Schales, who looks after the many AIDS patients in Zimbabwe. TV interviews with Jehudi Menuhin, Peter Ustinov, Olivier Messiaen, Roman Polanski, Federal President Johannes Rau and spoke to the Moonwalkers like Neil Armstrong, the first man on the moon.

 

Dr. phil. Ulrike Voltmer …

… is a psychologist and musician, graduated from an artistic (piano and opera school) and scientific studies (musicology, philosophy, psychology). She was first prize winner of several competitions (four times youth musician, subject piano). After completing her piano studies at the Saarland Academy of Music, she attended the opera school (with the world-famous opera singer Josef Greindl, among others) and worked with the composer and song accompanist Hermann Reutter, with Marc Belfort (Zurich International Opera Studio) and Irvin Gage (Zurich Conservatory). She also appeared as a leading actress in television films (e.g. about the late Romantic Peter Cornelius in “Südwest 3”). She consciously seeks collaboration with artists from other genres such as the flamenco group FINO-FINO or the pantomime JOMI and the Japanese pianist Sakiko Takeuchi-Mohr, with whom she received the Saarlouis Cultural Prize in 2006. With her and the pantomime JOMI she toured Japan in 2010.

She was licensed as a psychological psychotherapist in the fields of depth psychology and psychoanalysis, whose approaches she also uses in the field of film interpretation and dramaturgy.

 

Josef Michael Kreutzer (JOMI) …

…is on tour worldwide as a pantomime. He has been deaf since his childhood. He helps us to bring the universe to hearing-impaired people through body language (DGS and mimic) live and in video guides.

JOMI is one of the top artists in his field. He studied with Marcel Marceau at the École de mimodrame in Paris. His education also included classical and modern dance, acrobatics, fencing, juggling and experimental theatre with outstanding teachers such as Pavel Rouba, Maximilian Decroux, Stephan Niedzialkowsky and Matt Mattox. JOMI graduated in 1981 and since then has been working as a solo pantomime and lecturer in pantomime, body language and stage art.

In 1996 he was awarded the Culture Prize for Art and Science of the Saarlouis district. In October 1999, the then Federal President Johannes Rau awarded JOMI the Federal Cross of Merit for his services to mime and intercultural relations in Europe.

His language is understood everywhere. His tours have taken him to all European countries, Russia, North and South Africa, many Latin American countries, the Arab Emirates, Jordan and Japan.

 

Just recently a movie about him was released: www.jomi-film.com

Team

Unser Team – gemeinsam stark!

Hinter den Kulissen des Weltraum-Ateliers ist eine Menge Arbeit zu leisten. Wir stellen unser Team nachfolgend kurz vor :

    

Sebastian Voltmer …

… ist Gründer des Weltraum-Ateliers und international ausgezeichneter Astrofotograf. Er studierte ab 2000 an der Kunsthochschule (Universität) Kassel, zunächst als Schüler von Floris Neusüss im Fachbereich Fotografie sowie Nicolaus Ott und Bernard Stein in Grafikdesign. Sein Studium absolvierte er als Schüler von Yana Drouz mit dem Film „Wiederkehr des Mars“ mit Auszeichnung. 2003 Stipendium im Fachbereich „Fine Art“ an der „Kingston University“ in London. 2004 Studium an der Filmakademie der „Universität für Musik und darstellende Kunst“, Wien.
Im Jahr 2000 wurde Sebastian Voltmer mit seiner Arbeit „Astrofotografie als Methode zur Kometenentdeckung“ Landessieger und Bundespreisträger bei „Jugend forscht“ und erhielt als solcher im September 2000 eine Einladung zu Bundeskanzler Gerhard Schröder.
Siebzehnjährig drehte er seinen ersten Film mit dem Titel „Das Gesicht des Mondes“, der im Juli 1999 bei dem Landshuter Offenen Wettbewerb für Filmemacher unter 24 Jahren den „Filmpreis für eine besondere Vertonung“ erhielt. Seitdem beschäftigt er sich verstärkt mit der Komposition von Filmmusik. Sein zweiter Film „Das Gesicht des Himmels“ wurde vom Bayerischen Rundfunk in dessen TV-Programm aufgenommen (Space-Night). Ende 2001 produzierte er in der Mandschurei den Film „Sternschnuppen über China – Leoniden 2001“, der am 15.12.2002 im Bayerischen Fernsehen gesendet wurde. Seine neueste Produktion ist der Kinofilm „JOMI – lautlos, aber nicht sprachlos“.

Mit und ohne Teleskop bringt Sebastian Voltmer den BesucherInnen des Weltraum-Ateliers den Himmel näher.

 

Christoph Pütz …

… ist seit mehr als 35 Jahren Amateurastronom und ist an der Sternwarte Peterberg aktiv (www.sternwarte-peterberg.de). Ebenso wie Sebastian Voltmer entdeckte er bereits in jungen Jahren seine Leidenschaft zur Astrofotografie. Als Mitglied der „International DarkSky Association“ (www.darksky.org) verbindet er mit vielen HelferInnen im Sankt-Wendeler-Land Tourismus, Astronomie, Gesundheits-, Umwelt- und Naturschutz auf ehrenamtlicher Basis. BesucherInnen des Weltraum-Ateliers werden ihm öfter begegnen 😉

 

Arabella Strassner …

… schuf während Ihres Masterstudiums die Grundlagen für die kulturelle Weiterentwicklung des Weltraum-Ateliers und setzte gezielt die Förderung der Barrierefreiheit in die Praxis um. Sie ist zweisprachig aufgewachsen, hat deutsch-italienische Wurzeln und studierte in Germersheim und Paris „Sprache, Kultur, Translation“. Sie spezialisierte sich im Masterstudium in der Grenzregion Saarbrücken, Metz und Luxemburg auf „Grenzüberschreitende Kommunikation und Kooperation“ im Bereich der Medien, wobei es ihr besonders um die Integration und Barrierefreiheit von sensorisch Behinderten (Gehörlose und Blinde) geht. Ihre Hauptinteressen liegen im Bereich Kultur und Völkerverständigung, womit sie sich auch in ihrer Masterarbeit beschäftigt hat. Die theoretisch gewonnenen Erkenntnisse wurden am Weltraum-Atelier in die Praxis umgesetzt. Berufs- und Praktikumserfahrung hat sie während ihres Studiums u.a. beim Saarländischen Filmbüro und beim Saarländischen Rundfunk sowie bei der Produktionsfirma LichtenSTERN.tv in Saarbrücken gesammelt.

 

Manfred Voltmer …

… ist seit 1972 Fernsehjournalist, hat mehr als 5.000 Filme – vom aktuellen 1‘30-Bericht bis zum 60‘-Feature – realisiert.
Sein journalistisches Volontariat absolvierte er beim Saarländischen Rundfunk, wo er von 1976 bis 1981 als 1. Redakteur in der Aktuellen Landesschau tätig war. Seine Schwerpunkte liegen in der Reiseberichterstattung, im kulturellen Bereich sowie im Natur- und Umweltschutz. Dazu kommen Portraits über Menschen und Organisationen wie über den Buschdoktor Dr. Hans Schales, der sich in Simbabwe vor allem um die vielen Aids-Kranken kümmert. TV-Interviews führte er u.a. mit Jehudi Menuhin, Peter Ustinov, Olivier Messiaen, Roman Polanski, Bundespräsident Johannes Rau und sprach mit den Moonwalkern, wie Neil Armstrong, dem ersten Menschen auf dem Mond.

 

Dr. phil. Ulrike Voltmer …

… ist Dipl.-Psychologin und Musikerin, absolvierte ein künstlerisches (Klavier und Opernschule) sowie ein wissenschaftliches Studium (Musikwissenschaft, Philosophie, Psychologie). Sie war erste Preisträgerin mehrerer Wettbewerbe (viermal Jugend-musiziert, Fach Klavier). Nachdem sie ihr Klavierstudium an der Musikhochschule des Saarlandes abgeschlossen hatte, besuchte sie die Opernschule (u.a. bei dem weltberühmten Opernsänger Josef Greindl) und arbeitete mit dem Komponisten und Liedbegleiter Hermann Reutter, mit Marc Belfort (Intern. Operstudio Zürich) und Irvin Gage (Konservatorium Zürich). Sie wirkte auch als Hauptdarstellerin in Fernsehfilmen mit (z.B. über den Spätromatiker Peter Cornelius in „Südwest 3“). Bewusst sucht sie die Zusammenarbeit mit Künstlern aus anderen Sparten wie der Flamenco-Gruppe FINO-FINO oder dem Pantomimen JOMI und der japanischen Pianistin Sakiko Takeuchi-Mohr, mir der sie 2006 den Kulturpreis der Stadt Saarlouis erhielt. Mit ihr sowie dem Pantomimen JOMI unternahm sie 2010 eine Japan-Tournee.

Sie erwarb ihre Approbation als psychologische Psychotherapeutin in den Bereichen Tiefenpsychologie und Psychoanalyse, deren Ansätze sie auch für den Bereich der Filminterpretation und -Dramaturgie einsetzt.

 

Josef Michael Kreutzer (JOMI) …

…ist als Pantomime weltweit auf Tour (Wiki-Link). Seit seiner frühesten Kindheit ist er gehörlos. Er hilft uns dabei, das Weltall auch hörgeschädigten Menschen durch Körpersprache (DGS und mimisch) live und in Videoguides näher zu bringen.

JOMI zählt zu den Spitzenkünstlern seines Faches. Er studierte bei Marcel Marceau an der École de mimodrame in Paris. Seine Ausbildung umfasste aber auch klassischen und modernen Tanz, Akrobatik, Fechten, Jonglieren und experimentelles Theater bei hervorragenden Lehrern wie Pavel Rouba, Maximilian Decroux, Stephan Niedzialkowsky und Matt Mattox. 1981 schloss JOMI sein Studium mit Diplom ab und arbeitet seitdem als Solopantomime und Dozent für Pantomime, Körpersprache und Bühnenkunst.

1996 erhielt er den Kulturpreis für Kunst und Wissenschaft des Landkreises Saarlouis. Im Oktober 1999 zeichnete der damalige Bundespräsident Johannes Rau JOMI für seine Verdienste um die Pantomime und die interkulturellen Beziehungen in Europa mit dem Bundesverdienstkreuz aus.

Seine Sprache wird überall  verstanden. Seine Tourneen führten ihn in alle europäischen Länder, nach Russland, Nord- und Südafrika, in viele Länder Lateinamerikas in die arabischen Emirate, Jordanien und nach Japan.

Erst kürzlich ist ein Kinofilm über ihn erschienen: www.jomi-film.com